IT Carlow book All-Ireland Ladies football final position

IT Carlow have secured their spot in the Division 4 Final after a tight semi-final victory over Marino in IT. Carlow on Thursday evening last.

Division 4 ladies football league semi-final result: Marino 3-10 IT Carlow 3-13.

2014-11-27 20.12.12

Strong performances from Laura Clarke, Ciara Larney, Martha Coyle and Marion Hayden ensured that Carlow booked their place against Maynooth on Tuesday week (December 2nd) in the Division 4 Ladies football final. Marino started strong with Orlagh Egan scoring an early goal and pointing from a foul making to 1-1 to no score at the four minute mark. Laura Clarke got IT Carlow on the scoreboard after breaking through two tackles to pop the ball over the black spot.

Attacks started deep for both sides as runs from mid-field were the main force behind scores. A powerful run from Marion Hayden and handpass to Martha Coyle and return handpass made the sides level for the first time at 16 minutes.  IT Carlow slowly edged in front with points from Martha Coyle (2) and Laura Clarke along with a saved goal chance by Marino’s Sarah Powderly. IT Carlow dominated the closing stages of the first half with a goal from Shonagh Spratt-Murphy and another point from Martha Coyle gave them a comfortable four point lead against the wind.  Orlagh Egan did her utmost to keep her side in touch by adding a point before the referee blew the half time whistle. IT Carlow leading 1-8 to Marino’s 1-5 at half time.

Marino started the second half with an early goal chance that was safe guarded by Eimear Murphy.  Substitute Kerie Dillion got her name on the score sheet after an inspirational score from inside the 13m line at an acute angle. Quick thinking from a Marino free set up Eimear Shovlin to put just 2 points between the sides at 38mins. Points were exchanged by Orlagh Egan, Ciara MaGuire and Martha Coyle as the sides were level at 40mins while the intensity rose in the later stages of the game.

It was tip for tap as both sides had tunnel vision for the Eimear Murphy’s and Sarah Powderly goals. A Marino mistake was crucially punished after a short kick out went to the hands of IT Carlow’s Ailbhe Ryan who stuck the ball to the net. At the other end of the field Eimear Murphy was again put under pressure from Aoife de Bùrca but Carlow came out on top once again. It wasn’t long before Orlagh Egan found herself kicking past the IT Carlow goal line. While Martha Coyle answered quickly, a huge score from outside the 21 yard line as she buried the ball over the head of Sarah Powderly.

2014-11-30 12.38.12

The final minutes of the game seen a lot of clever IT Carlow possession and pressure that prevented any last minute Marino attacks to clinch onto an All-Ireland final position. Carlow found it difficult to control the scoring force that was Orlagh Egan in the second half who added 2-3 to her tally and setting up the third goal for the Dublin side. Although IT Carlow had a number of scoring options and didn’t rely on solely one player, this should strongly benefit them in their final next week vs Maynooth.

Fixture: Dec 2nd (Tue) 2.30pm Ref: Shaune Duane Venue: Carlow, Carlow IT (2) v Maynooth Uni (2)

Scores: Laura Clarke (0-2), Martha Coyle (1-6), Marion Hayden (0-1), Shonagh Spratt-Murphy C14 (1-0), Ciara Larney (0-3), Kerie Dillion (0-1), Ailbhe Ryan (1-0)

Marino: Orlagh Egan (2-8), Eimear Shovlin (1-0) Ciara MaGuire (0-1) Tara Kennedy (0-1)

Read the Division 4 league final report here:

One comment on “IT Carlow book All-Ireland Ladies football final position

  1. Pingback: IT Carlow’s Meet the players: Martha Coyle | guaranteedannmarie

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s