Match Report: Cork bow out of hurling Championship as Tipperary steal the show

Tipperary 2-18 vs 1-11 Cork, All-Ireland Hurling Championship Semi Final, Croke Park, August 17th 3.30pm

Tipperary has reserved their place in the All-Ireland hurling final after overcoming a very feeble Cork side. Cork were favourites to win the game, but Tipperary rose well above the mark and a lethargic Cork were left watching the premier county in awe for the All-Ireland hurling semi-final.

Cork did start strong with Alan Cadogan scoring a point in the first minute, but moments later Seamus Callanan rattled Anthony Nash’s net and that was the end of Corks dream of returning to the All-Ireland again.

Cork managed to stay in the game at times in the first half, Anthony Nash hitting a free to put 3pts between the sides at 18minutes but that was as close as Cork would get to an astounding Tipp side. Tipperary dominated each position of the field with midfielders Shane McGrath (0-3) and James Woodlock (0-3) hitting 0-6 between them. Referee James Owens had an easy day at the office but did make some controversial decisions at times.

Eamon O Sea’s tactic of having a two man full forward line, and high ball to be hit directly on 6ft2 Seamus Callanan proved very costly for the Cork defence. Cork’s Shane O’Neill could not compete as Callanan towered over the full back and scoring 2-3 from play during the game.Tipperary grew in confidence as the game continued with forwards John (Bubbles) O’Dwyer, Callanan, Noel McGrath and Bonner Maher popping over scores from all over the field.

Cork hit numerous wides throughout the game, hitting 9 in the first half alone. Cork struggled to break into the attacking zone but when they did Padraic Maher made things difficult for Rebel forwards. Substitute Rob O’Sea scored Corks Goal and the starting full forward line only scoring one point from play.


After meeting three years in a row (2009-2011) in the bid for Liam McCarty, Tipperary and Kilkenny contest the All-Ireland final on Sunday, September 7th once again. Tipperary was the last team to bet Kilkenny in an All-Ireland final and will surely out fear into Cody’s mind and team.

Tipperary: Darren Gleeson; Cathal Barrett, Paudie Maher, Paddy Stapleton; Brendan Maher, James Barry, Kieran Bergin; Shane McGrath (0-3), James Woodlock (0-3); Gearóid Ryan, Patrick Maher, John O’Dwyer (0-6); Noel McGrath (0-2), Seamus Callanan (2-4, 1f), Lar Corbett. Subs: Denis Maher for Ryan (57 mins), Eoin Kelly for Corbett (60 mins), Jason Forde for Patrick Maher (63 mins), Michael Cahill for McGrath (65 mins), Conor O’Brien for Woodlock (69 mins).

Cork: Anthony Nash (0-2, 2fs); Shane O’Neill, Damien Cahalane, Stephen McDonnell; Christopher Joyce, Mark Ellis, Lorcan McLoughlin; Daniel Kearney, Aidan Walsh (0-1); Conor Lehane (0-4), Bill Cooper, Seamus Harnedy (0-1); Alan Cadogan (0-1), Patrick Cronin, Patrick Horgan (0-2, 2fs). Subs: Paudie O’Sullivan for Cadogan (46 mins), Stephen Moylan for Cronin (46 mins), Rob O’Shea (1-0) for Walsh (55 mins), Jamie Coughlan for Harnedy (64 mins).

Referee: James Owens (Wexford).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s